Weeks End

Well as another week comes to a close and the weekend approaches I look back and am amazed at how time spent in the studio is like a little bit of heaven on earth and it made me ponder on why it gives me so much joy.  I was asked the other day what is it that inspires me to paint and I feel most strongly that it is I have been given a gift that I cannot waste, by gift I don’t mean I am on myself and think that I have something that others do not but as a Christian I feel that each of us are given something special that is unique  and I would be remiss if I didn’t use, acknowledge and be thankful for it. Having said that, I am under no illusion that I am special or have a “bigger slice of the pie” in the talent stakes than any other artist but the one thing I do have now is time to work hard and be the best that I can be because anything worth while is only achieved by working hard.

Painting is a simple pleasure – it can be done by anyone and although you hear protestations of ” I can’t even draw a stick man”, whenever you  hand over the paint brush to a person they nearly always end up smiling (well almost –  I did once have someone who  was close to tears because she spent most of the time comparing what she was painting to the person next to her and judged herself as failing).

In this world of instant everything time spent on producing a piece of art regardless of where we are on our painting journey is time well spent – when you pick up a brush and start to paint then everything  around you fades, you are in your own little world and even though it can be mentally tiring and sometimes it doesn’t  work out  I have found  there’s a part of every painting that  has a little gem.

So use your gifts to give your life a bit of magic – it may not be as an artist but that’s ok – find something in your life that really makes you want get up in the morning – as for me opening a box of colour will always do it! – ( you thought I might say a box of chocolates didn’t you 🙂 – that works too!!)

 

These pink roses were just there –  so I painted them  (in oils)

 

DSCF1074

Leave a comment